Back to Black Watson Bikini

Back to Black

It feels so good to be posting again! I can’t believe it’s been almost a month since my last post, and I’ve missed it so muchย – yet another reason to look forward to my mid-year break. Still, though I’ve been quiet I have been getting in some sewing, and I’m so glad to be able to share it with you now – especially given how happy I am with these makes ๐Ÿ˜€

I had noticed a little while ago that there was a bit of a gap in my lingerie wardrobe; I didn’t own a single plain black bra! Which did seem a little ridiculous for someone who has over twenty bras… Also, a few months ago, I became completely smitten with this Playful Promises set, and while I tossed up on buying it, ultimately I couldn’t afford it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But its simplicity of design got me thinking – as did the bolt of black stretch satin sitting in my grandmother’s fabric stash. Here are the results of my endeavours!

Back to Black Lingerie Set

For this set, I used my favourite Boylston braย and Watson bikini patterns, as well as a new one, the Ohhh Lulu Greta garter belt pattern. And I am pretty damn pleased with how they all turned out!

Back to Black Boylston Bra

The Boylston is very much a TNT pattern for me now; apart from my usual bridge-narrowing alteration it is exactly as-is. I used all of my usual construction techniques, including fully-enclosed seams – extra important this time as, in addition to being super slippery, this satin frayed like crazy! I used cut and sew foam in the cups, and sheer cup lining to stabilise the bridge and cradle pieces. There is one thing different I’d like to share about this bra though: it’s the first bra I’ve made using Erin’s Bliss wires, and OH MY GOD THEY’RE LIFE-CHANGING. Previously I’ve achieved a fit I was happy with in my bras – not quite perfect, but still pretty great. But these wires, with their narrower, more vertical shape, have pretty much perfected it! They make the cups more narrow and projected than standard wires do, which is absolutely spot-on for my shape. The cups are now 100% perfect on me: they contain everything with no overspill or flat spots, and the bridge sits flush to my chest. I’ll definitely be ordering more of these, Erin – the difference they’ve made is inspiring! ๐Ÿ˜€

Back to Black Boylston Bra

Back to Black Boylston Bra

The Watson bikini got a little more alteration work done – this was my first time trying a design feature like the cutouts in the back and they turned out so much better than expected! It ended up being quite straightforward in execution – I cut out the back piece as usual, then just used my rotary cutter to take two small ovals out of the centre. I finished them with fold-over elastic, then stitched the two halves together again down the centre. Construction then proceeded as usual! This was my first time making this pattern in a two-way stretch fabric, and while the fit it still pretty good, next time if definitely add a little to the rise to compensate for the lack of stretch in that direction ๐Ÿ˜‰

Back to Black Watson Bikini

Back to Black Watson Bikini

Back to Black Watson Bikini

The third pice of the set was the only new pattern I used – the Ohhh Lulu Greta garter belt. I’ve always loved the classic high-waisted six-strap garter belts, but I’d never yet made one. I did toy with the idea of drafting my own pattern for one (because they’re hardly complicated garments), but in the end laziness won out and I went with Ohhh Lulu’s. And I’m glad I did, because, as always with Ohhh Lulu’s patterns, it was impeccably drafted and came together like a dream. It fits beautifully and gives that incredible elegant retro look I adore ๐Ÿ˜€ I also thought about sewing the little button embellishments on to the garter belt as well (aren’t they adorable, by the way?!), as they are inย the Playful Promises set, but in the end I decided I’d prefer it without so it has a nice smooth look under fitted clothes.

Back to Black Garter Belt

Back to Black Garter Belt

I know I do say this about almost everything I make, but man, I am in LOVE with this set! Not only does it look and feel great on, but I think these are some of the most beautiful pieces of lingerie I own – just goes to show that basics don’t have to be boring! Though I will admit the bra is the only true basic of the piece – just as well it goes withย all my black underwear ๐Ÿ˜› That being said, the garter belt and underwear will go well with the black RTW strapless bras I already own – so it is really a very versatile set. It’s definitely got me thinking that I need to make up a few more not-so-boring basics in the future…

Back to Black Lingerie Set

Well, I certainly hope it’s not this long again until my next post – though anyone who follows me on Instagram will know there’s already a very special project in the works ๐Ÿ˜‰

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

 

24 comments

  1. Sian · April 13, 2016

    This is amazing!! I was a big fan of that Playful Promises set too but didn’t want to choose a simple one (I got the Juliet harness style one instead!), but that’s a great idea to sew it yourself! When I first opened the post and read the Playful Promises bit, I scrolled down assuming you’d bought the set and were reviewing it, then read more closely and realised you’d made it – it looks SO professional, especially the cut outs on the brief.
    Question! What size underwires did you buy?! (If you don’t mind me asking!) I know we’re a few cup sizes apart, but with the smaller band and larger cup size you wear, it would be useful to know. I’m still struggling to find my perfect fit in the cups and wires, and I think trying the Bliss underwires might be my best option. I keep finding mine too wide or too tall, and I can’t be doing with shortening them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 17, 2016

      Thanks so much Sian! I did love the Playful Promises set you reviewed too – pretty much everything they make is incredible! While I am very happy with how this set turned out, owning some of their pieces is still definitely a goal ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I absolutely don’t mind sharing my wire size! I always get size 38 wires, which does seem to be consistently the right size; however, now that I’ve tried the Bliss wires I definitely notice that standard ones are about a centimetre too wide for me – while the Bliss wires are exactly right for me! They help with the cup shaping too, just by using them I’ve noticed the cups in this pattern had more depth and projection, without any alterations. I’d say give the Bliss wires a go for sure, they may well help you on your quest! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Cvetak Zanovetak · April 13, 2016

    Beautifuly set, like color, details are great.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jennifer3d · April 13, 2016

    My goodness, this set is just stunning! That garter belt is to die for and the cutouts in the bikini are inspirational.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 17, 2016

      Why thank you! I am very, very pleased with the end result, it’s quite close to the vision I had in my head ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Michelle · April 13, 2016

    Gorgeous! I love your set, I love the little alterations you made to the panties. It’s all simply beautiful. Now I’m thinking I need some basic black…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 17, 2016

      Thanks Michelle! You can never go wrong with black, it’s both a basic AND a classic!

      Like

  5. Katy · April 13, 2016

    Really amazing! You’re an inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Elizsews · April 15, 2016

    Hi MissMaddySews ……great make, black with a shine๐Ÿ˜Š….you must have an amazing stash. So pleased that your study hasn’t completely deprived you of time to create a garment or two!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 17, 2016

      Thank you! I’m glad I still have a bit of time for stitching too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  7. emeralderin · April 15, 2016

    Well I definitely have my bra envy for the day! This set is STUNNING! and I’m so happy that you love the bliss wires- I knew they’d be perfect for you!!! xo erin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 17, 2016

      Well thanks again for introducing me to them Erin! I can’t wait to make a million more bras with them ๐Ÿ˜€ xx

      Like

  8. Sofรญa · April 16, 2016

    I absolutely love your set!! The black satin seems so luxurious, and the little buttons are just adorable! But this time the bra isn’t my favourite part of the set, but the watson bikinis! The cutouts in the back are a great desing choice, they look so pretty! I hope we can see your special project finished soon. Meantime, it’s so good to see you back in the bra-game ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 17, 2016

      Thanks Sofia! I definitely think the cut-outs were what I was most pleased with in this set, i can’t believe how well they turned out ๐Ÿ˜‰ And it shouldn’t be too long at all before I can share my current work in progress, as its deadline for completion is only a couple of weeks away! (cue frenzied sewing…)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. poppykettle · April 17, 2016

    The wires have such a HUGE impact on fit… Glad you’ve found some that work for you! I’ll admit I’ve been saving the various underwires from all my RTW bras so that when I eventually come around to sewing again… I can work with those… haha. Love this set – the peep holes on the knickers are really cool ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 27, 2016

      Thank you so much! I had a lot of fun with that design feature, I’m definitely keen to try a few more styles ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  10. Liz · April 26, 2016

    These are so lovely! A quick request for help, could you please post a tutorial on how to narrow the bridge like this? I am desperately hunting for a decent bra pattern but have such a narrow sternum that everything comes up too high… your modification looks perfect! Please help those of us less talented!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · April 27, 2016

      Thank you! I’ll see what I can do – I don’t have as much time for sewing and blogging as I’d like these days! Narrowing the bridge is a pretty straightforward alteration, however – I usually just take around a centimetre out of the middle ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  11. Splinters&Stitches · April 28, 2016

    Found you via the bra a week, and I’m super jealous of your gorgeous set! I’ve been wanting a garter belt for.ev.er, but I keep putting it off because it would be so frivolous for a woman who almost never wears a dress, LOL! I’m curious about the bliss wires, would you say they are stiff and don’t “splay” open very easily? I have some underwires that I think are too flexible and pull open too much, even when the band isn’t tight, and I’m looking for some more like the ones in my RTW bras. Thanks for your insight, off to check out the rest of your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · May 2, 2016

      Thank you so much! If you want a garter belt, I say go for it! There’s nothing wrong with having a little frivolous lingerie, even if it’s only for special occasions ๐Ÿ˜‰ I don’t know that I’d describe the Bliss wires as ‘stiff’, necessarily – but then they aren’t any more flexible than any of the underwires I’ve used, and in my opinion are more supportive than some of my RTW wires; they definitely aren’t what I’d call too flexible or too easily pulled open ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Spring Has Sprung – Miss Maddy Sews
  13. Pingback: [BAW17]: April Round-Up! – Emerald Erin

Leave a comment