“What, like it’s hard?”

As a sewist, is there a greater pleasure than realising the perfect combination of fabric and pattern to perfectly recreate one’s vision in the real world? (the answer is no, there is not). So you may imagine just how pleased I am to be sharing this shining example with you all today!

fullsizeoutput_30bc

If you follow me on Instagram, you’d have seen me post about this fabric a few months ago – I came across it at the market, a piece about 1.6 by 1.7 metres of watermelon pink wool. I’m not sure exactly how old it is, but it had a beautiful tiny scalloped edge along the selvedges. I fell in love with the colour as soon as I saw it, but I knew I’d have to search out a pattern that would work with the extremely limited amount of fabric I had. I would have loved to have made a coat, but there was no way that I could have managed it with this scant piece. But I thought that this material would also make a stunning sixties-style fitted dress. I knew therefore I was looking for a retro/vintage style dress pattern which was fitted, had short sleeves (due to limited fabric), and with a feature collar for interest – aaaaand that would fit on my little piece of lovely wool. Fortunately after browsing through The Fold Line, I turned up New Look 6000, which I then scooped up in a Spotlight sale!

fullsizeoutput_30c2

I decided to fully line the dress instead of using the facing pieces – I didn’t think wearing an unlined fitted wool dress would be very comfortable :p So I bought two metres of watermelon acetate lining (also from Spotlight, of course). I cut a size 10 for the shoulders and graded up to a 12 over the bust, then down to an 8 over the waist and hips. I decided to cut out the wool using my pinking shears, so the edges would already be finished when I put them together. The lining pieces were finished with the overlocker pre-assembly. Construction went pretty smoothly: I sewed up the lining first so I could check the fit of the dress – which was spot on! Working with the wool was divine – don’t you love a beautiful malleable fabric that sews like butter and presses like a dream? The outer and lining are attached at the neckline; the lining was then hand-sewn to the zipper and at the sleeve seams so all the seams are concealed.

fullsizeoutput_30c8fullsizeoutput_30c4fullsizeoutput_30c5

I’m so thrilled with how this dress turned out (as you may have guessed)! The fit is sensational (if I do say so myself), and I think this number would be Elle Woods approved šŸ˜‰

fullsizeoutput_30cbfullsizeoutput_30c7

It’s always a thrill when a project turns out just how you imagined it! I’ve already worn it out (again, check out Insta!), and can’t wait to wear it out on placement soon šŸ™‚

Anyone else had a project turn out wildly successfully lately?

Until next time,

Maddy xx

21 comments

  1. reganlouise17 · 16 Days Ago

    Super cute! That color is gorgeous. Is the zipper hidden in the side seam?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 3 Days Ago

      Thanks! It’s in the centre back seam actually – I must have sewn it in well šŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. sabinemichaela · 16 Days Ago

    Beautiful.
    Love it.
    Now I feel very inspired to sew something with a similar collar, love this kind of collar.
    My last very successful sewing sewing was a 20s dress, with making the pattern and sewing it was finished in an afternoon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 3 Days Ago

      Thank you! The collar was actually a large part of my inspiration for this make, it was so handy that I found the perfect pattern for it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. liz-o-matic · 16 Days Ago

    This is GORGEOUS! I love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. La Vonda C · 15 Days Ago

    You are absolutely beautiful in this dress, such a classic line.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Let's Get Sewing · 15 Days Ago

    This dress is gorgeous! Everything is spot on: the fabric, the fit, the pattern… You look lovely in it too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 3 Days Ago

      Thank you! I think this really is one of my best pieces of sewing ever šŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Janene Spencer · 15 Days Ago

    This is so beautiful. And perfectly fitted. And the colour just pops on you. I’ve never thought of making up the lining first to check the fit. Thanks for the heads up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 3 Days Ago

      Thanks! It’s a good trick for when you’re fairly confident of the fit but at the same time don’t want to risk precious fabric!

      Like

  7. Colesworth · 14 Days Ago

    That colour is glorious – you picked the perfect pattern for it, looks great on you ;o)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Karen · 14 Days Ago

    The dress is absolutely fabulous you – just the right shade of red and, oh, what a gorgeous style, especially the collar. I love it with the fairly simply shoes and tights too! Kx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 3 Days Ago

      Thanks Karen! These are actually my favourite pair of shoes, they’re such a great staple and perfect for every day vintage looks šŸ™‚

      Like

  9. stitchadress · 12 Days Ago

    Maddy this dress is beautiful and its properly fitted on you. good job girl!

    http://www.stitchadress.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  10. poppykettle · 9 Days Ago

    I did see that wool you scored – lovely to see it made up! And what a perfect match with that NL pattern. Just gorgeous – the little pearl button at the collar is a lovely touch šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 3 Days Ago

      Thank you! The button was a rather fortuitous find in the button jar – always good when that happens! šŸ˜€

      Like

  11. Sue Cressman · 2 Days Ago

    I absolutely love this pattern so I have just purchased it…..I seem to be about the same size as you so I do hope it will look as good as it does on you once I have made it up…..The fabric is lovely…..and you look fabulous in it….Thank you for sharing this with us all….

    Like

Leave a Reply

