Life’s sweeter in pink

I have to say, writing this post I am feeling a little (very) nostalgic for my summer holidays – right now, cosyed up by the fire, I really do wish I was back in the warm weather, waltzing around in this pink gingham ensemble (i.e. one of my favourite outfits EVER).

fullsizeoutput_30af

I’d been wanting a retro outfit in pink gingham for some months now; I can’t remember the exact inspiration, but I’ve definitely seen a few repro pieces in variations on this theme before and knew that this was an outfit fantasy I had to indulge myself in. Accordingly I obtained a vast quantity of pink gingham from Spotlight and settled on a design. I wanted a dress, but decided to make it in two pieces as a top and skirt for greater versatility (a brilliant call, I might add). The skirt is a simple gathered circle skirt and the top is the bodice of B6167, modified to have a shirred back and a side zip (a “design feature” added when I couldn’t get the finished top over my head…whoops!).

fullsizeoutput_30b9

To add the shirring, I used this tutorial post by Gertie herself (it’s fairly simple really, the panels to be shirred just need to be widened accordingly). The ensemble was constructed on my Singer and Janome overlocker as usual, and it all went together beautifully! Again, in what seems to have been a theme for me over the last few months, I was a little slap-dash with this attempt – the waistband on the skirt is a tad ugly and the top doesn’t fit quite as nicely as I’d like (it’s uncomfortably tight around the waist after dinner, haha).

But happily I have plenty of leftover fabric and am keen to make another top to go with the skirt, and hopefully replace the waistband at some point when I have the time 😛 Despite this however – I have gotten so. much. wear. from this outfit already! I have worn the pieces both separately and together and gotten compliments every time. I’ve also realised that a two-piece dress like this is absolutely perfect for travel – three outfits for the space of one! I think I’ll be making another in this vein next summer for sure 😉

fullsizeoutput_30b1fullsizeoutput_30b5

I have to add, too, it was *extremely* fun coordinating this outfit with my hair whilst it was properly pink, too (it still is a tad! That dye was pooooowerful stuff). It really feels like one of the most “me” outfits I’ve ever made myself and I’m so glad I indulged my pink gingham daydreams 🙂

fullsizeoutput_30b7

Until next time (and dreaming of summer),

Miss Maddy xx

10 comments

  1. liz-o-matic · 27 Days Ago

    Va-Va- Voom! This is awesome!! And so smart to make it a two piece 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 15 Days Ago

      Thank you! I’m so glad I did, it’s been even more versatile than I imagined 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Emily Wrinkle · 27 Days Ago

    The dress is so cute, and I love it! Swishy skirts and pink gingham, what can go wrong? You look gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jennifer · 27 Days Ago

    Oh my goodness, what a gorgeous two piece outfit. The top could be paired with lots of skirts and that skirt is just soooo cute. And I love the seamed stockings and shoes you paired with the outfit for the pictures!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizsews · 25 Days Ago

    Fairy Floss…fantastic sweetly pink creation Miss Maddy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Brittney · 20 Days Ago

    Gorgeous! I’m curious how you adapted the pattern to make it into a two piece instead of a dress… did you slightly lengthen the bottom of the bodice so it could tuck under the skirt and not have a gap of skin when you moved about?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 15 Days Ago

      Thanks Brittney! It’s been so long since I made this outfit I can’t remember exactly what I did, but I think I must have added a couple of inches to the bodice to make sure there was an overlap 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

