And now for something completely different

I’m still catching up on blogging a few old makes! This time I have another gift for my sister, her Christmas present – which I managed to give her on time I’m proud to say :p A dancer and committed gym-goer, I made my sister something I knew she’d love – some coordinating activewear! Obviously, this was quite a departure from my usual sewing fare of retro ensembles, ballgowns and lacy lingerie, so some research was definitely required. Fortunately DIY activewear is a sewing trend that seems to have caught on rather well, so I wasn’t lacking in resources! I ended up being quite spoilt for choice; after reading extensive reviews of some of the most popular activewear designers and patterns, I went with Jalie 3462 (Cora tights) and 2563 (sports bra and short tights). I chose the Jalie patterns for a few reasons: great and versatile designs (I particularly like the colour blocking options on the Cora leggings!), good reviews, amazing price and the huge size range (very convenient if I ever decide I want some too!).

fullsizeoutput_2f7f

The hardest part of making up these patterns was definitely assembling the PDF print outs! As you can imagine, a pair of leggings with so many pieces and sizes included required a fair bit of taping. After that unpleasantness was over, the rest was nice and straightforward. Sizing was very easy given the forgiving nature of stretch garments, and the flexibility of being able to pick different sizes for top and bottom. For fabric I picked up some fantastic lycra from Rathdowne Fabrics – some wonderful matte black lycra with a decent weight to it for the main fabric, and some beautiful floral Seafolly lycra for the contrast panels. Elastic was plain black polyester elastic from Spotlight.

fullsizeoutput_2f86fullsizeoutput_2f85

Construction was ridiculously easy – I managed to complete almost all of it on the overlocker, with only elastic and hems done with a zig zag stitch on my Janome. All the pieces went together perfectly, and it was exciting to see it take shape so quickly. I lined the front of the sports bra with the black lycra for some extra support, but otherwise the stretch and recovery of the lycra was sufficient.

fullsizeoutput_2f7dfullsizeoutput_2f82

Not much else to say about these two patterns, other than that I recommend them highly! My sister has given them her tick of approval too – I know they get good use in her work outs so they’re clearly holding up well! And I hear she’s gotten a few compliments on them as well šŸ˜‰ I think I can happily promise her more for her collection for future gifts!

fullsizeoutput_2f84

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

3 comments

  1. Claire · April 15

    You Rock xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. trishstitched · April 17

    Love these! Great floral print, the set looks awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · 4 Days Ago

      Thank you! Have to admit, they’re one of my favourite makes ever!

      Like

Leave a Reply

