The Cat’s Pyjamas

I feel I should preface this post by saying, no, I did not call this post about my sister’s pyjamas the cat’s pyjamas because I think she is an animal – I just wanted to use a cool bit of 1920s slang that was vaguely related to my post content 😛

fullsizeoutput_2eaf

Sooooo I think we all know I’m a bit of a selfish sewer – and I’m not ashamed of it! As many of us makes know, creating garments is hobby that takes a lot of time and skill, and as much as I’d love to sew heaps of things for all my friends and family, I barely have time to make the things I want for myself. But when it comes to gifts, I try and make a bit more of an effort – I really do love giving people close to me the special present of something that’s been made just for them. This comes with it’s own challenges – I tend to put off and procrastinate on making presents right until the last minute, as I’m always more worried about them not turning out well than I am about the things I make for myself. Usually, I do make the deadline – however every now and then I don’t: my poor, patient sister had to wait a whole year for part of her 18th birthday present! Still, I hope she thinks her custom tartan Carolyn pyjamas were worth the wait!

fullsizeoutput_2eadfullsizeoutput_2eb6

I have to confess, I’ve procrastinated blogging about these too – but not out of stress, but because I haven’t managed to get any photos of them before now! Finally though I got around to getting my sister to model them for me so I could write them up – but you’ll have to excuse me if I’m a bit vague on the details 😛

fullsizeoutput_2eb8fullsizeoutput_2eb9

I’m a big fan of Closet Case Patterns – as can be seen by all the versions I’ve sewn of the Nettie pattern so far (and more to come I’m sure)! Her patterns are always well-designed, well-drafted, and come with beautifully clear instructions. I cut my sister a straight size from her measurements (don’t ask me what it was, I can’t remember haha), and assembled it using all three machines – overlocker to finish the edges before sewing, Singer for all the seams and piping insertion, and the Janome for the button holes. I didn’t even bother trying too hard to match the plaid, as the fabric I’d bought was hilariously off-grain; but I did try and get it close-ish where I could so it looked nice 🙂

fullsizeoutput_2ebafullsizeoutput_2ebb

Construction proceeded fairly smoothly, especially given there were a few learning curves for me! This was my first time using piping, which I love the effect of but took a few goes to get right; and though I’ve sewn a notched collar before, they still require lots of patience and persistence on my part. Even though they’re pyjamas, the many design details and tailored look of this pattern made it one of the most involved and intricate I’ve ever sewn! I do think it was totally worth it though, as I think they’re the ultimate combination of cosy AND classy, and despite the many hours it took to put together, I’m considering making myself a pair this winter…we’ll see how I go with that!

fullsizeoutput_2eb3

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

7 thoughts on “The Cat’s Pyjamas

  1. Elizsews says:

    Hi MissMaddy, comfy and cosy pj’s. I have always found piping a challenge and decided that one needed to practise the skill regularly and it just never happened ! So I would now avoid piping at any cost😁

    Like

  2. Lynsey Jane says:

    Super pyjamas, love the tartan look and your sister looks great in them, I’ve not tried piping yet and thought about buying this pattern to give it go. I’m mostly a selfish sewer, if I had more time then maybe that would change but for now it’s all about me 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

