Tartan Nettie Dress

What’s better than Secret Pyjamas?

…a Secret BLANKET, of course! If you’ve got no idea what I’m talking about, allow me to enlighten you at once – the secret pyjamas movement trend promotes the wearing of clothes that LOOK like normal clothes – but are secretly like wearing pyjamas! I know Heather of Closet Case Files is a big supporter of this trend, so I’m sure she’d approve of my efforts to take this noble ideal another step forwards – to secret wearable blankets!! Using one of her fabulous patterns, no less – I proudly present my new Nettie secret blanket dress!

Tartan Nettie Dress

My second iteration of the pattern in dress form, the Nettie pattern and I are getting along like a house on fire. I love, love, love this style of dress – effortlessly stylish yet amazingly comfortable – and this pattern just goes together like a dream. So when I went out hunting for stretch fabrics to feed my new knit-clothing addiction, this absolute babe of a tartan knit jumped right out at me at Darn Cheap, and demanded I make it in to the comfiest, cosiest dress ever. And how could I refuse?!

Tartan Nettie Dress

I went with the straight high neck options for both back and front this time (as opposed to the turtleneck hack I did on my last Nettie). This meant finishing the neckline with a normal binding instead of the turtleneck one I used last time. I’m notΒ overjoyed with how the binding turned out this time – I should have cut it a bit wider – but it’s neat enough and looks absolutely fine when on πŸ™‚ I also opted for short sleeves, as I didn’t want to look like a walking picnic rug, and I’m very happy with how they turned out! I got very very close with my pattern matching (one side seam is almost spot on!), given I’ve only really just started attempting it properly, I’m pretty happy with that haha.

Tartan Nettie DressTartan Nettie Dress

Construction absolutely breezed along, much like the last one – sewing projects which can be done in three hours from cutting to finishing are insanely attractive! I’m still working on my knit hems – they always seem to stretch out a little on the normal sewing machine, anyone got any tips to combat this? I am hoping that maybe they’ll shrink back a little after a wash though, and it’s not too noticeable to start I think. And besides, it’s hard to care about slightly wavy hems when you have an amazingly cool TARTAN BLANKET DRESS. This knit is absolutely fabulous on, it’s like wearing a cosy hug all day πŸ˜€ And of all the me-made clothes I’ve been wearing out and about this year, I have to say it’s my Netties that have been pulling in the most compliments! Soooo I can definitely imagine a few more of them appearing in my wardrobe in the near future…

Tartan Nettie DressTartan Nettie Dress

I’m keen to try the bodysuit view of the Nettie sometime soon too – and maybe branch out in to some knit tops as well (yes, this IS the same girl who once said she’d never make her own t-shirts…). So expect to see this top-notch pattern morph in to even more forms in the coming months…

What are you favourite patterns to hack and alter into other styles? πŸ™‚

Until next time,

Miss Maddy x

17 comments

  1. Elizsews · October 18

    Looks fantastic MissMaddy: another piece of fabric from your stash! It is always of great interest to hear about the origins of your fabrics! Handy to have a ‘blanket’ ready to wear when the local Spring weather is so unpredictable!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · October 26

      Thank you! Definitely been getting lots of wear out of it with the recent wild weather! :O

      Like

  2. oneandtwentybuttonholes · October 19

    Such a flattering cut and fabric choice! Great make. πŸ™‚ For the hems, have you tried a walking foot? I found a similar issue when I have sewed knits with a regular foot. I’m yet to try a walking foot, but have read that it can help to get smooth hems.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · October 26

      Thank you! This is definitely one of my favourite makes so far this year πŸ˜€ I’ve heard good things about walking feet, if I try one out I’ll be sure to post about the results on the blog!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the plaid! You have a very cute dress there!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Maybritt Kirkeby · October 19

    What a great dress! Am a little jealous of the fabric, which probably isn’t available here in Denmark.
    About the hems, I find that steam will take care of most stretch in knits. Just hover your steam iron a little above the fabric, and it will shrink right back.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · October 26

      Oooh thanks for the tip! I’ll definitely try that out and see if it helps! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Liz · October 19

    Looks great, will have to revisit this pattern… definitely recommend both a walking foot and a twin needle, they have really improved my knit hems and topstitching, to the extent that I now make all my T shirts despite once feeling like you did about that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · October 26

      Thanks Liz! I really like using the twin needle, maybe I’ll have to give the walking foot a try! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Splinters&Stitches · October 20

    Love this! Your dress is perfect and fits like a glove. πŸ™‚ I’m disappointed that there aren’t more knit plaid fabrics out there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · October 26

      Thank you! I loved this fabric as soon as I saw it – I didn’t buy it that time and had immediate regrets, I’m so glad I went back for it! πŸ˜›

      Like

  7. esewing · October 23

    This looks great , love the idea of blanket dress giving a hug ! Not surprised you are getting compliments on your nettles, look forward to seeing the next one ,

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · October 26

      Thank you! It’s always so gratifying when someone says they like what you’re wearing, especially if they don’t realise you’ve made it!πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. emeralderin · October 28

    Oh I love the tartan! It looks fabulous on you- and so rewarding for such a quick sew! I used the nettie pattern for a low back body suit, and then I massively hacked it to make an off the shoulder crop top- but it’s a great pattern for versatility- I’m sure that I’ll be using it again!

    Like

  9. Shasterin · November 16

    Love the details on the dress!! I would love to have this dress for myself. :). I had to see options that i will have with this lovely fabric so I was doing a search online for a similar fabric and this is what I found.
    http://www.moodfabrics.com/dusted-red-white-charcoal-woven-wool-blend-fw12127.html

    Like

  10. Tereza · November 20

    Oh wow! The dress looks so cool. For two years I have been planning to make a winter wrap dress from fabric like that. So thanks for the final push and I am off to search for a fabric:)

    All the best, I love your blog.
    Tereza from Dog & Pineapple

    Like

Leave a Reply

