My sewing space

A Bounty of Gifts

Soooo it’s been almost six months since my birthday at this point – and I still haven’t gotten around to showing off some of the amazing sewing-related gifts I was lucky enough to receive! You’ve all already heard about one or two of them – the gorgeous fabric my sister gave to me, and the overlocker from my grandmother and aunties, but there are still some great ones to share! Also, I’d love to give you all a look at my new sewing space, now that it’s just about finished – so here it is!

My sewing space

I got this gorgeous sewing cabinet as a present from my grandparents on dad’s side – it’s really upped my sewing-space game; I have no idea how I managed sewing on my desk in my room for so long now!! As you can see, it’s a compact wonder – it fits both my Singer sewing machine and Janome overlocker, all the pedals, and many of my tools and notions: scissors, rotary cutters, pins, needles, thread and overlocker spools, pressing hams – and yet it still closes up so small! I keep my Janome machine in its case next to the table, and use it on top of the Singer (like so) when I’m working with it. It’s a set up that works perfectly for me, and it packs away perfectly when I’m finished for the day, meaning the area is quickly made tidy again! The space itself is perfect too, that big window provides beautiful bright natural light all day, so it’s only in the evening I need to put the lamp on at all πŸ™‚

My sewing spaceMy sewing spaceimg_3274

Next to the table is my craft cupboard – I bought it shortly after we moved in to fit my constantly-growing stash of fabric, notions and other bits and pieces. Aaaaaalmost everything fits in here – only one large tub of fabric and my to-sew bag have to sit on the other side of the table. Next to those, are the beautiful boxes Mum got me as a present (also from IKEA, because she was not a fan of the old paper boxes I was using sitting around upstairs!) which hold my paper pattern collection, sorted by brand and how much I like them πŸ˜› My sewing books and PDF patterns live on the shelves of the book shelf opposite, as well as my project journals. Now the only thing wanting is a cutting table (which is hopefully in the works…) – otherwise, I really can’t complain! Thanks Mum and Dad for giving me this little corner of the new house to be creative in πŸ™‚

img_3278My sewing space

Now, on to the other goodies! You’ve already seen the ball gown that the gorgeous birthday dupioni became – but I’ve had some other gorgeous gifts and windfalls! Some cousins on my dad’s side gave me a real treasure trove of sewing notions and patterns that had belonged to my great-aunt – these are very, very special to me, and it’s a wonderful feeling to be able to put these treasures to good use πŸ™‚ I also received my great-grandmother’s collection of knitting needles and crochet hooks; as I’ve recently caught the knitting bug (the subject of a future post!), they’re seeing some good use too. I also received a copy ofΒ Gertie’s Ultimate Dress Book, which I already used a skirt pattern from for my ball gown, and voucher for Thread Den to take a class with – I can’t wait till I have time to do one of those!! I also scored a number of Spotlight and Lincraft vouchers, which have all already been used haha, mostly on tools and sale fabric πŸ˜‰

Apparently I’ve been on a very lucky streak lately – I’ve also benefited from some non-birthday windfalls! My grandma collected a few bits and pieces for me which belonged to a family friend’s mother which are truly unique: vintage appliquΓ©s and sewing notions, laces and trims. Just look at the beautiful packaging on some of the items! And the quality of the zips etc. is obvious – many of them have guarantees of replacement should they ever fail.

img_3007img_3006img_3005img_3002

Finally, another piece of luck – recently, a friend of a friend had a big de-stashing sale, and I picked up lots of lovely pieces of fabric for only $30! I got a got a great piece of black and white large-scale floral print something, this beautiful mint lace, this glorious Β pale pink embroidered mesh and THREE luscious pieces of green silk – I have so many plans already for these incredible pieces of fabric – and I look forward to sharing them as I slowly work through them πŸ˜‰

img_3298img_3297img_3296

Well, I think I’d better wrap up there before you all get toooo jealous πŸ˜› What kind of sewing bits and pieces have you been lucky enough to have dropped in your lap?

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

10 comments

  1. fabricfan · September 16, 2016

    You have a lovely collection of goodies. Good equipment is lovely to get early in your sewing life. Great fabric as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · September 29, 2016

      Thank you! It’s a lovely space to work in, it’s great motivation to get creative! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Siobhan S · September 16, 2016

    Oooooh my goodness you got the Horn with a table for your overlocker! Colour me jealous. What a haul!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · September 29, 2016

      Have to day, it is pretty convenient! I am a very lucky girl to have a such a big extended family who supports my creativity haha πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Splinters&Stitches · September 17, 2016

    Very nice! Looks like you got some great loot! I miss having a cabinet like that for my machine, but I am spoiled by my dedicated sewing space, so I’ll survive. πŸ˜‰

    My first ever sewing machine was one that fell into my lap. My aunt was in charge of an estate, and the gal who died was apparently a little bit interested in sewing, because I ended up with her Singer 301a and all of it’s accessories, a 1980’s Kenmore in a cabinet, and a few other random bits and bobs. I’ll be eternally grateful to that gal, for getting me back into this hobby. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · September 29, 2016

      Oh wow, that’s a great sewing treasure to recieve! I’d love to have a dedicated sewing space…maybe one day! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Emma · September 19, 2016

    What a fab space , mine is so much more random and incredibly untidy ! Is a great space, with all that natural light. You have certainly inherited some treasures , that pierrot clown applique will look great on your jeans.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · September 29, 2016

      Haha, thank you! It’s not always this tidy, I thought I should straighten up a bit for the photo shoot πŸ˜‰ Great idea for the applique!

      Like

  5. emeralderin · September 25, 2016

    Ohh this is definitely been a good year for you! And what a great sewing space! I remember all the little sewing spaces and corners I had through uni and this one is a lovely one! Also I will wait very patiently to see what you do with that green silk because it is STUNNING! So many great things ahead! I feel like I was lucky to be born into a sewing family, so there was always a sewing room at home and my grandmothers sewing shop filled with fabric and notions and little trinkets everywhere, and now I have them all over my shop too! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · September 29, 2016

      It definitely has been a great year! I have quite a few ideas in mind for those silk pieces, and I honestly can’t wait until my summer break when I can start tackling some more extravagant projects again! I’m glad I have sewing grandmothers who have been able to support my creativity (Mum knows how to use a sewing machine but that’s about it!), and it’s been lovely slowly collecting bits and pieces from their collections πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

