Blush Silk Slip

A Slip In Time

I’m back! The whole month of June seemed to slip by so incredibly fast – between my exams, a house move and my three weeks of incredibly jam-packed holidays, July arrived before I even realised it’d been well over a moth since I’ve managed to post! Not that I’d let myself feel bad about it; things have been incredibly hectic lately, and we all know that life just happens sometimes and you have to let some things slide – but still, I never want to just fade away from existence in the sewing blogging community, I love this corner of the internet far too much πŸ™‚ But however busy the last few weeks have been for me, they have still been very productive for sewing! If you follow me on Facebook or Instagram, you’ll have seen a little preview of my sewing area – I can’t wait to share it with you properly (once I’ve tidied it up a bit more and taken some proper photos πŸ˜‰ ). But the absolutely lovely new space I have to sew in has been extremely inspiring, and I’ve finally gotten through a bunch of projects that have been sitting in my queue for months! And first up, I’ll be sharing projects made in my favourite fabric of all – remnants!

I ask you kindly and humbly to please bow down to me as your remnant queen, because what I’m about to share with you is, I think, deserving of the title. Two metres of amaaaaaazingly lush silk from Rathdowne Fabrics for $15 – and what better use for it than some incredibly luxurious underwear??

IMG_3033

This project was really was a triumph of thrifty sewing. I’d been keen to make myself a slip or two since the start of the year, as they’re great for wearing with unlined or sheer dresses, adding a layer, and just fun to wear for a retro feel πŸ˜‰ Silk is an obvious choice for an authentic vintage feel, as well as being a sumptuous and beautiful fabric to wear against you skin. An obvious drawback, however, is the cost – hence why there aren’t many students packing drawfuls of pure silk underwear. I’m here to prove that sewing luxuriously CAN be done on a budget though! I’d been keeping an eye on the remnant bins at Rathdowne for a while, as you really can’t beat them for the quality and size of their offcuts. Then low and behold, for one day only they advertised 50% of all remnants!! I went in expressly for the purpose of finding a suitable silk remnant, and managed to find this lovely two-metre length of blush-coloured silk. Win!

Blush Silk Slip

The next issue of course, was finding a suitable pattern.I had a very clear idea of what I wanted: a simple, bias cut slip with thin straps and a sweet-heart neckline. I didn’t want any bust cups or gathering, as I was looking for the smoothest silhouette possible – very important if you’re wearing it under thin or sheer dresses! My search was proving somewhat fruitless though, until a friend delivered a bounty in to my arms – a huge collection of patterns someone she knew was giving away, and she’d thought of me and passed them on! Amongst them was New Look 6244, a summer dress and slip pattern – simple and bias-cut with no fastenings or closures – perfect!

Blush Silk Slip

I made view B, the shorter length of the simple slip-type dress. For once, I went with the size which corresponded for my bust measurement – as the dress is bias-cut, it has some stretch and therefore the pattern has negative ease in it, so I didn’t want to size down! I graded to a 12 for the waist and hips however, as they had a few inches of positive ease built in. As it only has two main pattern pieces (front and back), and the straps, it came together increeeedibly quickly! After a quick fit check after basting the sides together, I overlocked the raw edges (yes, on my new overlocker!!). I also overlocked the neckline edge, with the differential feed set to a verrrry slight gather, in order to prevent the bias-cut edge from stretching out, and make sure it clung nicely to the body. Β I then turned this under and stitched this down. After leaving it to hang over night and working out the hem length, I hemmed it using the rolled hem finish on the overlocker (if you’re thinking I have been extreme in my enthusiasm in applications of my new overlocker, you are absolutely correct!). And there I had it, my very own, deliciously soft, decadently luxurious pure silk slip. The fit is beautiful and it feels amazing on :0

Blush Silk Slip

BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE! I also managed to make a matching camisole from the same pattern (just by cutting it to a shorter length), and a pair of Ohhh Lulu Alice tap pants all from the same remnant, STILL for the low, LOW PRICE OF $15. Like the slip, they’re both finished with a 4 thread overlock on the seams and a rolled hem. Again, this silk is so light and beautiful that I can barely even feel it against my skin. And the best part? I STILL have some silk left! Not much, but certainly enough for Β bra…watch this space πŸ˜‰

Blush Silk Cami

Blush Silk Alice Knickers

If that wasn’t enough, I have another remnant special to share! While shopping at Lincraft a while ago, a decent sized piece of white rayon magically appeared in my basket found its way in to my arms for the amazing price of $2.70, and there was no way I could leave it there….

Anna Blouse

Well, a few months down the track, it’s finally metamorphosed into a beautiful blouse made using the By Hand London Anna dress pattern! I’d been toying with the idea of an Anna blouse for some time, as I love the fit of the bodice so much – in the end, it was extremely simple! I just decided how long I wanted it, and cut the skirt panels to that length, then constructed as usual. I’d initially planned to use facings around the neckline, but I realised the fabric was sheer enough that they’d show through – time to put the trusty overlocker to use again! It’s the first time I’ve made Anna in such a drapey fabric and it’s really incredible how lovely the effect is – so soft and pretty!

Anna Blouse

Afternoon tea = on point

Finally, I was able to give both my Anna blouse and my rosy slip an outing recently – I wore them to The Dressmaker costume exhibition! I loved both the book and the movie, and I think most sewists would be hard-pressed not to be in absolute awe of all that amazing costuming. Another outfit detail, the gloves I’m wearing are vintage ones belonging to my great-grandmother – Β so very special indeed! It was an amazing afternoon and also a great photo op (thank you to my man for the extremely enthusiastic photography!) – I’ll just leave a few snaps below…

IMG_3053

IMG_3036IMG_3044IMG_3045IMG_3046

IMG_3040

Hey, that’s my Singer!!

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

23 comments

  1. Michelle · July 13, 2016

    Lovely slip, Maddy. It must feel so luxurious too. You really are the queen of the remnants. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Siobhan · July 13, 2016

    All hail the remnants queen! Haha. I may or may not have just raced out to Lincraft to see if they had any of that sweet rayon. What I’d forgotten is our Lincraft is a wasteland of polyester hideousness, thin and cheap, with prints that time forgot. And living in the country, there are no independent fabric stores to scour for bargains.

    I guess I’ll be the op shop queen then πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 16, 2016

      Mmm, the Northland Lincraft isn’t a whole lot better – I definitely lucked out here! I’ll definitely bow down to you for the op-shopping title though – I’ve been admiring your finds on Instagram!

      Like

  3. Lynsey · July 13, 2016

    Amazing makes out of lovely fabric, it’s nice to fully use a super piece of fabric and you achieved that. The Anna blouse is cute too, I’ve thought of trying it so it’s fab to see your version.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 16, 2016

      Thank you Lynsey! I’m so pleased with how that Anna blouse turned out, I’m definitely planning more versions already πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. redflaminghair · July 13, 2016

    Definitely the remnants Queen! πŸ˜€
    And buying silk for such a low price? You are a lucky girl!
    I love everything you made, especially the slip.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 16, 2016

      Aw thank you Reka! I definitely have more than my fair share of luck when it comes to remnants, but this was a pretty exceptional find even for me πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Splinters&Stitches · July 13, 2016

    Just lovely. πŸ™‚ And one can never over-utilize an overlocker. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 16, 2016

      Haha, I think I’ll agree with you there fore sure! Thank you πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Emileigh · July 14, 2016

    What great makes! You’re so right about silk undergarments; they’re the best! I’m hoping to make some soon too, but I’m a bit nervous to work with a finicky and expensive fabric.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 16, 2016

      I definitely had more than a little trepidation before cutting in to this piece! But definitely go for it, it’s not as bad as it seems! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. sewitorthrowit · July 14, 2016

    Beautiful slip.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Emma @ A Hand Stitched Life · July 15, 2016

    You are the remnant queen! Overlockers are really wonderful thing πŸ™‚

    I’m convinced were on the same wavelength a bit too often, I’ve been toying with the idea of an Anna peplum shirt (taking inspiration from my favourite Review shirts). I’m pretty sure this post means I need to make it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 16, 2016

      Haha thanks Emma! Great mind think alike, I’m a massive Review fan too (just scored a second-hand dress from there for $25 and I’m thrilled), I’d love to see your version of an Anna blouse! (Also, been loving all the quilts you’ve been churning out lately) xxx

      Like

  9. Nikki Schreiner · July 18, 2016

    Very nice! I’ve been needing to make a new half slip, but I live in Hawaii where it’s so sticky all the time, I was only stuck on the fabric choice. I think I’ll scope out some silk, even if I have to splurge.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. SofΓ­a · July 19, 2016

    A silk slip! That’s underwear worthy of a queen… the Remnant Queen! πŸ˜› You have such good luck shopping for remnants! It’s a shame that Australia is a bit far away from Barcelona, I’d love to go fabric shopping with you πŸ˜‰ Your slip is so lovely, as well as your Anna blouse. Paired with that circle skirt is just perfection!
    It’s so good to have you back in the blogging world! I’ve been having a hectic month as well, so it’s time for both of us to bring our blogs back to life πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 26

      Thanks Sofia! It is definitely a shame haha, maybe I’ll make it across to Spain sometime πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to see some more posts from you soon! πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

  11. Lynda · July 22, 2016

    All your makes are gorgeous! And I love the idea of an Anna blouse – I’ve made a few Anna dresses but am never convinced of the silhouette on me even though I love the top bodice – going to give this a try – thanks for the inspiration πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · July 26

      Thank you! Definitely try it, I really loved how mine turned out πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. somorita · July 30

    U r so freaking talented girl!!! The slip is to die for!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

