Polkadot Dirndl

Spot the Medical Student

This is going to be a short and sweet one today – placement, while brilliant, is taking up a lot of my time right now, which is cutting into the time I have to sew things and to write about them! Still, I’m working on little bits and pieces here and there, and I have some upcoming projects I’m very excited to share with you down the track πŸ™‚ But for today, another placement piece – a darling little dirndl!

Polkadot Dirndl

This make was probably one of my most spur-of-the-moment to date. I am super happy with how my cigarette pants and pencil skirt turned out, but they do have one little trait that is rather undesirable this time of year – the fact that they’re made of wool! And so whilst I love wearing them, I haven’t really had much of a chance at all, even as we head into what is looking to be a very hot, dry autumn. I also discovered something rather surprising: I do not have *nearly* enough clothes for full-time placement! Whilst the situation should improve once I can add some winter skirts, pants and sweaters to the current rotation, I had to quickly get together a couple of stop-gap pieces to help me through till we get some relief from the blistering heat πŸ˜› The shirt-dress has been getting a good amount of wear, but I’ve realised, for placement at least, separates are gong to be a lot more versatile and easy to wear, and therefore a bit more rewarding to sew. And when I saw this cute navy polkadot cotton at Lincraft during their half-price fabric sale, well…

Polkadot Dirndl

I’d never made a gathered skirt before, and to anyone reading who hasn’t, I suggest you go and make oneΒ right now. You don’t need a pattern, or even any maths really – just your waist measurement and how long you want the skirt to be! I’m not going to write a tutorial on it at this point – I think it’s been very well covered by others already – but just to give you an idea of *how* easy it is, I didn’t even bother measuring the length of this – I just cut my fabric in half length ways, and then used the selvedge asΒ the hem edge (which I then just had to press up and stitch!). My fabric was about 113cm wide I think, so I knew that sitting at my waist, it would hit right on my knee if I cut it this way – it’s a good trick πŸ˜‰ Given it’s such a simple project to construct, it’s easy to add in nice details, I used french seams and added a pocket in the right side seam using my fave in-french-seam pocket method. That pocket is my life and I only wish *all* my placement clothes had pockets – they’re seriously hard to live without on the wards!

Polkadot Dirndl

Apparently not amused here.

Fabric choice is always going to affect the look of the garment – but I think it’s especially evident in a style like this. This cotton poplin has a fair amount of body and is quite crisp, so the gathers create quite a full silhouette – which I really like, it’s a good way of alluding to my favourite 50s hourglass shape without committing to circle skirts and petticoats in the hospital πŸ˜› But in a nice soft voile or rayon, you’d get an incredible soft drapiness, which I’m also very keen to try – and given how easy and inexpensive a skirt like this is, I think I will!

Polkadot Dirndl

That’s all for today folks! I might be changing my posting schedule soon, from weekly to fortnightly – so if it’s a little while before you hear from me again, don’t fret πŸ˜›

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

12 comments

  1. cetakz · March 8, 2016

    Sweet skirt, blouse is very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SofΓ­a · March 8, 2016

    So lovely!! I love the polka dot fabric!! The skirt looks amazing on you, it’s a great way to keep a vintage style without compromising practicality πŸ™‚
    And we’ll be missing your weekly posts, you’re always so full of inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · March 9, 2016

      Thanks SofΓ­a! I think it’s rapidly becoming one of my most worn makes, I’ve been wearing it at least once a week since I made it!

      I’ll be missing posting weekly too – guess we’ll see how long I stick to posting less frequently πŸ˜› But you’ll definitely be hearing a lot from me during my holidays!

      Like

  3. Rowena W · March 8, 2016

    Hello! I’m a medical student across in NZ, and I SUPER agree with you about how useful pockets are on the wards – it’s my first placement at the moment, and I wish everything I own had pockets! It really does look like a good (practical and beautiful) placement skirt!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · March 9, 2016

      Oh wow, it’s great to meet another sewing medical student, especially one from my side of the world πŸ™‚ I’m realising I need to make a bunch more clothes now, just to put pockets in them – too many of my ready-to-wear clothes are missing them! πŸ˜›

      Like

  4. Elizsews · March 8, 2016

    Hi ‘MissMaddySews’….love the skirt and so practical….it is not only Med students that need pockets, they are essential for teachers also! I can remember making my first gather skirt many(vintage)years ago also polka dot white/navy! The next version I made was fitted from waist to hips…then gathered from hips down…..also a very flattering look.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · March 9, 2016

      Very true! Those are some great ideas for future skirts, too – think I might have to have a go at them for future placement makes! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Emma @ A Hand Stitched Life · March 9, 2016

    Love the skirt Maddy! It’s been a while since I made a gathered skirt. I tend to prefer pleats because I can get them more uniform and looking just right. I love how easy it can be to whip up a skirt with the right width fabric. Plus easy hems are the best πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · March 9, 2016

      Thanks Emma! My new-old Singer has a gathering foot which I’m quite tempted to try for that reason – but then at the same time I’m a bit scared of it πŸ˜› but I might have to try and conquer it for the next one! (easy hems FTW!).

      Like

  6. Your skirt turned out really well! The whole outfit looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · March 14, 2016

      Thanks Linda! This is one of my favourite outfits, it gets worn almost once a week! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

