Blue Meadow Co-ord

Beach Baby

Every year for the last few years, I have declared “This summer, I am hitting the beach!” And every summer until now, I have been too lazy/disorganised/lackadaisical to bring it to fruition. However the summer of 2015/2016, in large part thanks to my friends and family for bring more motivated and better organised, I have finally made it to the beach. And man, has it been lovely. Reading on the beach, splashing in the waves, kayaking, snorkelling, soaking up the warmth of the sun and the sand – I have been enjoying myself a lot πŸ™‚ It’s been excellent for another reason, too: it has provided the perfect justification for my sewing up the flimsiest, delightfully frivolous and most impractical clothing. Jeans at the beach are, in my belief, just wrong; sadly, so are my beloved full-skirts and petticoats. So what’s called for? Playsuits and co-ords, of course! So here’s my last bit of frippery for the summer: a crop-top version of ByHandLondon’s Anna dress, and my own self-drafted shorts.

IMG_2339 (1)

As much as I do love my two playsuits, they do have one inherent flaw – one-piece clothing makes bathroom visits that little more inconvenient. So I decided it was time for another co-ord, seeing as I really do love them and I haven’t made one since this time last year. When I made the Anna dress a few weeks ago, it occurred to me that the pretty bodice (by far my favourite part of the pattern) could possibly be hacked into top of some kind. Particularly easy would be a crop top, which would merely require not sewing a skirt on to it. Now that’s my kind of pattern hack! I decided to pair it with my self-drafted shorts pattern, the same one I used for my champagne satin co-ord, but this time adding a side pocket, because now that I’ve started putting pockets in things, I can’t stop πŸ˜›

Blue Meadow Co-ord

Construction was reasonably straightforward – I decided not to line either piece, as it’s only casual warm-weather wear, and I used my french seams, my favourite finish, throughout. I do like to try and incorporate an element of learning/skill development into each project, however – so this time I made my own bias binding to finish all the openings (except the shorts legs, they were just turned up and hemmed). It gives a great look and a lovely clean finish, but I think next time I will at least invest in one of those little bias-makers (the little metal ones that fold the strip for you) to speed the process up, because manually ironing the folds in got tediousΒ very quickly.

IMG_2352

Another new skill: a little hand-worked button loop! The separating zip I bought for the top was a little too short, but I decided I rather liked the idea of having a gap and a little button closure at the top – it’s a very pretty effect πŸ™‚ So I dug this little beauty of a button out of my stash, and found a quick little tutorial on working a button loop for it. I think it’s a nice little detail that adds to the vintage character of the ensemble.

IMG_2354

Speaking of vintage, this fabric is a bit special – another piece from my great-grandmother’s stash, gifted to me by my grandmother last year. I had originally hoped to make Simplicity 1880 out of it, but sadly there just wasn’t enough fabric. Happily I picked up some very nice cotton lawn for that one in the Spotlight sale (and maybe a pattern or six…) – expect to see that one soon!

Blue Meadow Co-ord

I really am pleased with how this little outfit turned out – it’s so cute and comfortable, perfect for all manner of summer fun πŸ™‚ These photos were taken on our holiday to the Cook Islands (which turned out to be a very me-made holiday!), and I definitely couldn’t resist having that kind of scenery for my photoshoot.

Well, it’s back to sewing smart and sensible(ish) for me now, that my summer break is over – but I’m pretty well relishing the change; I’m quite excited about the chic things I’m currently sewing up for placement! What’s everyone else working on at the moment?

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

23 comments

  1. Abigail · January 26, 2016

    That’s so cute! I love that you made it a too piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Thank you! The best part about making a two-piece is that I’ve been able to mix and match them – the top looks great with my black midi skirt, for example! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. jennystitched · January 26, 2016

    This is adorable

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emeralderin · January 26, 2016

    LOVE this!! πŸ™‚ you’re making me want a matching set so bad!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Thanks Erin! Yesss you should make one, I’ve been mixing and matching this one so much πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. SofΓ­a · January 26, 2016

    So lovely!! I really like the look of this Anna-dress-hacked-into-top! πŸ˜‰ The tiny button loop detail is so cute. And, of course, me-made holidays are the best holidays! πŸ˜› I’m so jealous looking at that perfect beach… *sigh*

    By the way, I’ve just read that today is Australia national day, so… Happy Australia Day to you! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Thanks SofΓ­a! I think I’ll be experimenting with more tops from the Anna pattern – maybe next time I’ll add a peplum at the bottom so it’s more work appropriate!

      And thank you! I had a lovely day celebrating with my friends πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sheryll · January 26, 2016

    This outfit looks so lovely – a playsuit without the disadvantages!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Precisely! It’s a lot more versatile too, I’ve been wearing them as separates a lot, mixing and matching with my other clothes πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Nathalie · January 26, 2016

    so pretty! It looks great on you, I wish I was brave enough to wear a crop top because it looks amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Thank you so much! Definitely try giving crop tops a go, they’re so much fun to wear!

      Like

  7. Katy · January 26, 2016

    Oh, gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. janene · January 26, 2016

    This is beyond cute. Made all the more lovely knowing where that pretty fabric came from. Well done on the button loop. It’s all those added details that make a garment priceless πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Thank you! I agree, if you’re going to go to all the trouble of sewing something up nicely, you may as well pay attention to detail πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. That’s a perfect summer outfit for the beach! Lovely photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Thank you! My little sister is my photographer, I think she does a pretty good job πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. redflaminghair · January 28, 2016

    Lovely set! The flower in your hair makes it absolutely perfect look πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 29, 2016

      Thanks! Gotta have the right accessories πŸ˜‰

      Like

  11. Pingback: 1950s-Style Co-ord
  12. freetoairphoenix · February 24, 2016

    The material is just stunning. You are quite lucky to have a grandmother that has that sort of stuff lying around! You are darling in the outfit.
    PS- got here from the link on WeSewRetro. Looking for a site or blog that just does the patterns from long ago, not “inspired”, not “style” but simply the very patterns from those time periods without alterations (except for size, etc ) I do not care for the “sort-of retro” sites very much at all. If you know of any Maddy I would love a hint on where to find them. Your sewing is just lovely.

    Like

  13. Pingback: Dancing Queen – Miss Maddy Sews

Leave a Reply

