Summer Blossom Maya Bra

Summer Blossoms Part II

I know I said at the end of the last post I was taking a bit of a break from lingerie sewing – and I haven’t relapsed yet! I actually sewed these up ages ago, but only finished them completely and got around to taking photos the other week. So enjoy my last bra for a little while!

Remember that lovely floral lycra lingerie set I posted a few weeks ago? Well, now you can meet its twin! Say hello to the rest of my little summer blossom lingerie family, a Maya, a MIX30 and a new little garter belt!

IMG_2322

When I was first planning out this set, I knew that I wanted to use the lace on both bras, but in different ways. I’d attempted a lace-only upper cup in a foam Boylston before, and while that turned out reasonably well, I thought that it would work even better in the Maya, where the cross-cup seam is higher. Given that I also wanted to use the lace in the back-band, I knew that the elastics would be hidden (which is why I used them in the Boylston, to show them off more), so this set got the lovely blue-green straps and matching channeling. It was also quite a last minute bit of inspiration to use nude lining and powernet in this bra – so last minute that I’d actually already cut out the black powernet! – but I realised that it would show off the lace better, and coordinate well with the lace in the matching underwear, which wouldn’t be underlined. And I’m so glad I thought of it, because I love how it looks ๐Ÿ™‚

Summer Blossom Maya Bra

I altered my bridge properly this time (unlike my last rather slapdash fix on the Maya!), narrowing it considerably. I also lowered the height of the neckline a bit, and reduced its angle, in order to create more of a balconette-style shape, and move the straps out to the side a bit. I tried a new construction method this time as well – for my velvet Boylston, I used a similar method to usual to attach the cup to the foam, but it created bulk at the cross-cup seam. To avoid this, this time I zig-zagged the foam cup to the seam allowance of the cross-cup seam of the completely constructed outer cup, then top-stitched down. This, while a little fiddly to do, gave a great result! No excess bulk in unflattering places now ๐Ÿ˜‰

Summer Blossom Maya BraSummer Blossom Maya Bra

The fit is alright, but sadly not brilliant. I think the upper cup stretched out a bit during the sewing (you can see how the lower cup is more angled than it should be), which has rendered it a little tight, and as a result there is a little spill-over. Still, it’s not super-noticeable, and the bra is still very comfortable and pretty, so I’m sure it will still get some wear.

Summer Blossom Maya Bra

Not much to say about the lovely little matching MIX30 panties – these are also becoming a TNT for me, for their comfort and fit, and a-may-zing use of lace. Though the bra from that pattern proved to be a little disappointing for me, this underwear pattern has since more than made up for it. I’m also keen to try the other pattern from MIX30 though, which I have yet to have a go at – stay tuned for that!

Summer Blossom MIX30 PantiesSummer Blossom MIX30 Panties

The last piece of this set is the Karolina Garter belt pattern by Raisa of Olympian Cotton. This is Raisa’s first pattern release, and when she contacted me a few weeks ago about testing it, I was delighted to accept! It’s a great little sew, and it turned out really well – the perfect use of the last remaining scraps of this gorgeous lycra. This was also my first time using fold-over elastic, and man, am I in love with it! Expect to see it popping up in future lingerie creations ๐Ÿ˜‰ You can get the pattern for yourself (and it’s free, too!) here ๐Ÿ™‚

Summer Blossoms Garter BeltSummer Blossoms Garter Belt

The straps on these (as you may or may not be able to tell from the photos) are removable – it’s the set I ordered ages ago off eBay to use on my La Vie en Rose underwear to make them garter panties (I also finally put the loops on those for the straps – they work like a charm!), and I thought I may as well use them here. I figured it’s not particularly cost-effective for me to make a complete set of straps for every garter belt, especially when they may not individually get frequent wear. So I’m happy to have a few sharing the straps ๐Ÿ™‚

Summer Blossom Lingerie Collection

Almost back to uni for me now – only about two weeks of holidays left! I’m not really sure what to expect from this year yet really, though I have no doubt my sewing hours will be somewhat curtailed. Still, I have something of a backlog of projects from the summer, so I’m sure you’ll still be hearing from me ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

 

10 comments

  1. Sofรญa · January 19, 2016

    Amazing as always, Maddy!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Such a shame that the fit of the bra isn’t perfect, it’s so lovely! And the whole set looks so well together!
    Good look with your new year at university, I’m sure it’ll be great! I’m always a little nervous too at the beginning of a new course, but before you realise you’ll be acing your final exams ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 19, 2016

      Thanks Sofia! Yeah it is a bit of a pity, but I’m still glad I gave it a go. I’m also thinking I might try a cup size up the next time I make the Maya – not sure if it was always like that or I’ve changed sizes slightly, but even my original one seems a little small now. I guess once you start sewing your own lingerie, you just become more and more sensitive to fit!

      And I’m very excited about this year – a little nervous of the unknown, but it should be a really interesting year and a pretty challenging one, but in a good way ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. colormusing · January 19, 2016

    Gorgeous set, Maddy! I love the dark floral fabric!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 19, 2016

      I love it too – I think it’s my favourite of all the Merckwaerdigh kits I’ve bought! Thanks Lindy ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Elizsews · January 19, 2016

    Another great sewing effort MissMaddy… I love the way you challenge your sewing skills, always exploring new ways to achieve amazing creations. Enjoy getting back into your studies.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 19, 2016

      Thank you! It certainly helps keep things interesting, and I think it’s helped me come a long way as a seamstress in the last twelve months ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m looking forward to starting back at uni, but I think I’ll have time for a couple more projects before then – both with some new challenges ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

  4. madebymitty · January 25, 2016

    Very pretty! I love the pink elastic on the garter belt ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Emma @ A Hand Stitched Life · February 6, 2016

    I’m a huge fan of mix and match sets, the more you can get out of any one fabric the better. This lyrca is lovely and I adore the addition of the blue lace. A garter belt is on my list of things to make but then again the number of times I wear stocking makes it a bit of a frivolous make, but then again sometimes you just have to sew for the sake of sewing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Miss Maddy · February 6, 2016

      I quite agree! I don’t wear stockings on a very regular basis, but I’ll often slip them on if I’m headed out, or want to feel a bit more glam ๐Ÿ™‚ still I think they’re surprisingly easy to justify sewing – they’re so quick and take so little fabric! I’m sure you’d make a super pretty one ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Pingback: Free Lingerie patterns

Leave a Reply

