Black Lace Sierra

Elegant Sufficiency

Finally, the last of my Christmas sewing posts! Though my sister knew that she was getting bathers for part of her present, and had actually helped design them, I also wanted to give her something that she wasn’t expecting. I decided to give her another me-made gift, partly because they’re so thoughtful and personal, and partly because I can make much nicer things than I can afford to buy ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’d shown her the Sierra bra pattern by Madalynne a couple of months ago and she’d loved it (pretty bralettes are definitely her lingerie aesthetic), and as I was trying not to goย too overboard on the budget front, I couldn’t go past a free pattern. My sister and I had both thought the illustration was pretty as, and the finished product did not disappoint!

Black Lace Sierra

This was a delightfully quick and easy sew, but also a nice change of pace from the bra patterns I’ve sewn in the past – the unusual way the pieces came together made it as interesting a sew as it was straightforward. It’s a well-drafted pattern, and the instructions are unusually good for a freebie – Maddie has put a lot of love and attention to detail into this pattern ๐Ÿ™‚

Black Lace Sierra

Though I generally don’t rely on instructions much at all for lingerie these days (as it’s usually almost self-explanatory once you’ve made a few pieces), there is one step which I will highlight as being important specifically to Sierra: spray basting the lining and lace together before sewing. It’s often recommended in bra construction if you’re underlining, but I usually don’t bother, as I haven’t usually found it necessary (that, and I haven’t found the spray anywhere locally and can’t really be bothered buying it). But for the Sierra, where the pieces are so much longer than usual in lingerie, it’s so much easier for the two layers to stretch and push out of alignment. So if I was going to make this pattern again, I would probably try to find a way to secure the two layers better. Not that it made too much of a difference here! The bra still turned out just fine, and it’s completely wearable. There’s just one or two points where the lining pulls a bit, or the edges don’t quite align, that I think could be eliminated by doing this.

Black Lace Sierra

So, the fit! I had to guess at the size a little, but I’ve made my sister a couple of bras now and knew the measurements roughly. As the support given by this bralette is mainly through compression, Maddie recommends going down a size if you’re in between; this is basically what I did here, and it came out perfectly, so it’s a good point to note! My sister has also given her seal of approval on the comfort factor too – who’d have thought that such an chic, designer looking piece could actually be pleasant to wear??

Black Lace Sierra

I think it’s a very versatile pattern too. The combination of halter strap and low back means it could easily go under tops or dresses where a normal bra might not work; I think it’s also pretty enough that if it shows a bit, well, so much the better (I personally think it’s a crime to always completely cover up beautiful lingerie) ๐Ÿ˜› I have to say, I think the lace really makes this bra. I bought it online from my favourite eBay lace vendor, J&K Lace, and I loved it so much I bought five metres of it – so expect t see it popping up here on the blog again very soon!

Black Lace Sierra

I think possibly my favourite part of this project was getting to make something that was amazingly gorgeous despite the fact I’d never wear anything like it (the Sierra just doesn’t work for E cups; I know this because I sneakily tried it on and was very disappointed). So I’m glad I’ve got a little sister who I’m sure will be the grateful recipient of as many Sierras as I care to sew for her!

I’m actually taking a little break from sewing lingerie for myself, I’ve decided. Not because I’ve tired of it in anyway (believe me, I haven’t), but because if I keep sewing at the rate I have been, I’ll run through my entire stash of nice lingerie making things, and there’s some new patterns on the horizon which I really,ย really can’t wait to try (e.g. the one Amy of Cloth Habit teased in her last tutorial!). So I’m going to focus on garment sewing for now (probably a good thing in and of itself), and look forward to diving back into bra-making once some tempting new patterns arrive on the scene!

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

13 comments

  1. Andie W. · January 12, 2016

    That lace is absolutely gorgeous! โค โค Great job on the sierra!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sofรญa · January 12, 2016

    The lace is absolutely gorgeous!! (Such a shame that the seller only ships to Australia, I was already with my purse in my hands!) The beautiful desing goes so well with a simple pattern like Sierra. I’m sure your sister enjoyed this unexpected gift! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 12, 2016

      Isn’t it though?? Pretty much the one time being based in Aus meant I could order something not available internationally, haha. And she did, very much! I think handmade lingerie gifts are a trend that’s going to continue in this case… ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

  3. redflaminghair · January 13, 2016

    Hey girl, it’s another lovely bra! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I understand you’ll take a break from lingerie, cos you are so fast maker, it’s insane!!

    And I noticed on myself that as I kept checking Bra Making Forum and all the lingerie making blogs my head went crazy, I kept thinking about lingerie all day during work and I couldn’t sleep cos thoughts were running and running….
    Now I focus on custom made bras for my two friends and no selfish sewing until my order arrives around the end of month ๐Ÿ™‚

    Aaaand I think as I see you are such a pro, and you mentioned you’ll make a pattern by yourself, you could focus on self-drafted patterns because well, they are the cheapest ๐Ÿ™‚ And I find it extremely great to understand all the rules and things about bra making.

    So far I bought two patterns, One I adoooore (Watson) and one I regret. It’s really satisfying when your own, self-drafted patterns seem to work and fit! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 19, 2016

      Aw thank you! Yes, I know exactly what you mean, lingerie is soooo easy to get obsessed with – even now I’ve just seen a gorgeous set for sale online and I’m planning how I could replicate it!! At least I’ve got my sewing budget to stop me, I have had to use all of this month’s already on materials for clothes.

      I’ve been thinking about dabbling in a bit of self-drafted lingerie! Or at least, attempting some more complex hacks. I’ll need to get my confidence up a bit first though, fiddling with patterns can be so nerve-wracking ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

      • redflaminghair · January 19, 2016

        Don’t even mention it ๐Ÿ˜€ Yesterday I had to alter cup pieces to make a perfectly round foam cup instead of a pointy one and man, it wasn’t easy, I had to cut the foam over and over again to earn the right angles. But at the end I think I came up with the right cup ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • Miss Maddy · January 24, 2016

          Some times a little trial and error is all it takes! I’ve actually just bought a bra (gasp) that has a lovely three-piece cup that I’m thinking of attempting to clone at some point…watch this space!

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Emma @ A Hand Stitched Life · January 13, 2016

    I love the lace in this one Maddy! I added JK Lace to my favourites on eBay months ago thanks to your recommendation, I’ve yet to actually purchase anything but I’ve been tempted many times.

    I’m a bit of a fan of the Sierra. It’s actually surprisingly comfortable to wear. I altered the straps on mine but the halter neck is sweet and you’ve reminded me I have to try one with it.

    I can’t wait to see what garments you make next! I think I’ve got too many projects I want to work on. Ideas in my head jump from bras, to quilts, to dresses, to a ball gown and back to bras. Then I end up sewing something totally random anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 19, 2016

      Thanks Emma! I adore the lace and I can’t wait to make something for myself out of it – though I’m very eager to see Cloth Habit’s new pattern due to come out this year, I may just be tempted into a new Watson before then!

      I’ve got so, so many plans for this year too – I tried to spend this morning doing some fabric research for one or two of them, but as soon as I see a pretty fabric, I’m imagining something completely new I could make out of it! I’m thinking I might need to do a post or something to help me commit to a few things… ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

  5. oneandtwentybuttonholes · July 26, 2016

    Hi Maddy, I’m new to sewing lingerie so i’m wondering what you may suggest for the type of lining fabric for this piece. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

