Floral Fifi Pyjama Top

The Sweetest Slumber

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you’ve all recovered from the festive season, and are settling back into the swing of things in 2016. I’m currently holidaying on a gorgeous tropical island – or I will be, as I’m actually writing to you from the past (go past me for being organised enough to schedule my posts!). So I hope 2016 is a fun place πŸ˜‰

Continuing on with my Christmas makes: mum’s present! I knew I wanted to make something a bit special for mum – and what’s more special than a really pretty pair of pjs? πŸ™‚ I’d been wanting the Fifi pattern from Tilly and the Buttons for a while, and here was the perfect excuse (anyone else seeing a theme here?). So here they are made up for mum, in a beautiful floral cotton lawn. Aren’t they lovely?

Floral Fifi Pyjama Top

Fifi really is a darling little pattern, the perfect summer pjs/loungewear in my view. Sweet and feminine but still comfortable for hot nights. It’s a very flattering style too, with the soft pleats in bust, and princess seams down the back, as well as the beautiful bias drape. The shorts are lovely too, with the cheeky curved hem and easy fit.

Floral Fifi Pyjama Top

The one thing I do really appreciate about this pattern above all else is the attention to detail included in the finishing. The pattern instructions specify french seams and turned-over hems, and once the bias binding is applied, not a sing exposed seam is left! Even the elastic at the waist is applied much like it is in lingerie, except turned under so it’s not exposed. Insides as beautiful as the outsides is definitely my jam, so Fifi gets full marks there πŸ™‚

Floral Fifi Pyjama Top

The sizing seems to be pretty spot on too. Given that they’re pyjamas and not supposed to be particularly fitted, I just went with the bust measurement for the top and cut a straight four, even though the waist measurement fit with the size below. But it seems silly to tailor pyjamas that much, and I think it works perfectly with the simple floaty silhouette that Fifi has going on.

And of course, the most important part of any gift is its reception – and I’m pleased to say, it was most well-received. They fit well (I have to admit, this wasn’t hard to achieve – Mum being just about the same size as me makes it a lot easier to make things for her without her knowing!), and they’ve been pronounced both cute and comfortable. Well, now that they’ve proven such a success, I think I need a pair for myself! And I think I may already have the perfect fabric…

Floral Fifi Pyjama Set

Well, I hope everyone else’s new year has gotten off to a good start (because mine sure has!), and that plans are underway everywhere for lots and lots of sewing in 2016. I’d love to know what everyone has planned!

Until next time,

Miss Maddy xx

6 comments

  1. redflaminghair · January 6, 2016

    Aww, I constantly got sewing-envy if I browse your blog, in a good sense. I wanna sew this sweet set, it’s too sweet. I have pure white cotton lawn in my stash so if my purse survives January I wanna give it a go in spring (now its winter here so I’m not in a rush).

    My plans for now is to make some custom made bras for friends and a bodysuit, I got some orders. And today I ordered lots of beautiful laces to make custom made bras from them, some for myself, some to others. And I definitely want to sew more knickers, panties (whatever you call it) – bottoms. Or/And matching sets! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 12, 2016

      Oh thank you! It is such a cute pattern, I’m seriously jealous of my mum now and definitely need to make my own set!

      Sounds like you’ve got a big year of sewing planned – I hope it all comes to fruition πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. SofΓ­a · January 6, 2016

    Lovely pyjamas!! It’s indeed the sweetest set! I’m sure your mum is so proud of her talented daughter πŸ™‚ I’ve made a satin camisole for my mum and I’m planning to give it to her tonight, because in Spain we exchange presents on January 5th at midnight (or the 6th in the morning, but I’m far too impatient to wait for that!) As you said, sleepwear doesn’t need to be very fitted, so it’s always a good option for making gifts!

    Also, I loved the review of your “sewing year” you wrote in your last post, it was so inspiring! You’ll need a new wardrobe for all the pretty things you’re going to make this new year πŸ˜‰
    I hope that 2016 brings you happiness and, of course, lots and lots of sewing! πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miss Maddy · January 12, 2016

      Thanks SofΓ­a – just goes to show great minds think alike! A satin cami sounds so luxurious though, I think that might need to go on the list for mother’s day present ideas πŸ˜›

      Speaking of wardrobes, I’m about to do a massive clear-out of mine, in part to make more space for future makes. Some friends and I are having a market stall soon to sell some clothes and things – I’m hoping the proceeds will help fund some future makes!

      The same to you, I hope it’s a fantastic year and I can’t wait to see what you come up with πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Love the pjs! Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

